E-Mobility

RELUCTANTLY GAME CHANGING

Challenges

IMPACTING THE ENTIRE AUTOMOBILITY VALUE CHAIN

No other technology appears as predictable and yet has so many unknowns as electromobility. It affects all areas of the automotive value chain and is forcing automakers and suppliers to realign all their business units with e-mobility in mind.

At the same time, legal requirements are severely restricting the scope for action available to automotive companies. The time for fundamentally questioning electromobility on the basis of regional differences, possible alternatives and delays in the start-up is over.

All OEMs and suppliers who want to be present on the market in the long term must have a strategy for electromobility that encompasses all areas of the company.

Berylls perspective

E-MOBILITY – AN ALL-ENCOMPASSING CHALLENGE

E-mobility sets the frame within which automotive companies act and operate.

From decisions on product or service portfolios, the definition of suitable software and hardware architectures, the roll-out of new sales and business models to strategic communication with investors and shareholders – e-mobility is setting the tone everywhere today.

Although many questions are still unanswered – and not only from the perspective of automotive end customers – the time for relying solely on legislators and governments is over.

For e-mobility to contribute profitably to sales and returns in the long term, clear decisions and sustainable action by the companies themselves are required.

And Berylls is leading the way as part of the automobility industry.

Service offering

Mastering five challenges

To make electromobility sustainable, capable of growth, and profitable, automotive companies must master five challenges:

Regulatory pressure requires massive business acceleration

Legislators are massively increasing the pressure on car manufacturers to reduce emissions to an extent that can only be achieved by significantly increasing sales of BEVs. Many cities are even threatening with driving bans.

This massively increases the pressure on manufacturers not only to quickly expand their existing range of BEVs, but also to increase customer acceptance, e.g. with regard to public charging, through innovative business models.

Our offering includes:

We help OEMS find their own solution to unsolved electric mobility problems and integrate them meaningfully into existing offerings, e.g. via new services such as VaaS, Mobility Services, digital service or own charging solutions.

Cost and investment pressure grows

Still, the low battery range at high cost deters even BEV-interested customers from buying a BEV.

OEMs and suppliers must invest massively in the further development of battery technology in particular and massively reduce its costs. Due to the speed required for this, automotive companies must increasingly enter into cooperations and partnerships.

Our offering includes:

Berylls supports cost reduction programs in development, manufacturing and purchasing, in finding suitable cooperation partners, in software development  and in securing and accelerating new product launches. Furthermore, we support to secure investments with a view to the global capital markets.

E-mobility integration into existing platforms and portfolios is critical

Due to high legacy costs, established manufacturers in particular offer even BEV-interested customers only a very limited product portfolio across all vehicle segments.

The resulting gap between customer needs and product offerings increases customers' willingness to switch and paves the way for new competitors.

Our offering includes:

Berylls helps OEMs, suppliers, startups and Big Tech define appropriate portfolios and core competencies, and integrate them into existing architectures, organizations and sales models.

Expansion of public charging infrastructure is urgent

Low network coverage, low availability of fast charging stations and long waiting times in front of charging stations make public charging of BEVs difficult. This is compounded by immature payment options and complex payment processes at charging stations.

Our offering includes:

We help OEMs, suppliers to make charging attractive for customers, e.g. through latest digital services and business models, through own charging solution. And in building cooperations and networks.

Securing raw materials and supply chains is a priority

New suppliers and manufacturing processes need to be qualified for many components of the e-machine and especially the high-voltage battery.

Our offering includes:

Especially for battery cell input materials such as lithium, cobalt, nickel or rare earths, new supply chains from ESG-compliant resource extraction to manufacturing and assembly must be set up and supply security ensured in the long term.

This also requires building new competencies and providing employees with further training. To achieve this, partnerships at eye level are more important than ever.

Team

OUR E-MOBILITY EXPERTS

Executive Partner

Andreas Radics

Those who are willing to invest their own money in a distressed case do not take on a project assignment, but responsibility for the overall result - another point that makes Berylls "but different"!

Partner

Dr. Alexander Timmer

For me, first-class automotive consulting means passion for the product, a unique perspective on the challenges in the industry and working with a highly motivated team. All this comes together at Berylls - but different!

Project Manager

Sema Poyraz

Working together with the most inspiring colleagues and partners allows me to enrich my professional skills. At Berylls I have the chance to be the strategist I am and express my ideas that drive value and growth for our German and Chinese clients.

Project Manager

Valentin Froh

As part of our Berylls family I am working on the major industry challenges in a pragmatic yet professional way – making impact and growing personally every day. This is made possible by our diverse team of highly motivated automotive enthusiasts.

Senior Consultant

Cameron Gormley

I am passionate about the future of the automobility and Berylls provides a unique opportunity to help drive this transformation and be on the forefront of innovative solutions across the industry.

Associate

Henri Laux

One of the mobility industry’s major challenges is putting the customer at the centre of everything the organisations are doing. At Berylls Mad Media, we help key industry players achieving this mindset shift with an outcome-driven approach.

Lead Venture Associate

Johan Torssell

Developing scalable products, investing in upcoming start-ups, and providing advice to help companies achieve excellence. This is where knowledge truly is leveraged to maximise societal impact for a bright future, that makes BDV different.

Consultant

Lisa Schmidt

Working at Berylls means for me to know that I can't imagine a better working environment. Working with colleagues, managers and clients makes Berylls for me - but different.

Consultant

Thomas Scholz

Personal mobility services are an important element in our daily life. To make them sustainably attractive for costumers and companies in ecological and economic terms, we at Berylls work passionately on strategic solutions.

Consultant

Rishab Harlalka

A dedicated focus on the rapidly evolving automotive industry makes Berylls a perfect stage to unleash my passion for the industry. Automobile fascination and passion of people at Berylls with innovative thinking and approach make it „but different…

Consultant

Yalun Li

Realizing the future of smart and electric mobility is the vision, to which I dedicate, day for day and step by step. The creation of innovative and “but different” mobility solutions, as well as industrializing the ideas, are valuable approaches…
Featured insights
THE VOICE WITH A DIFFERENCE
Index
Automobility Index

The WTCAR covers the 100 most relevant and promising listed companies worldwide.

See Index
Podcast
Berylls Podcast

The latest in automobility for when you're on the road.

Spotify Homepage

Cooperation partners

WHERE STRONG PARTNERSHIPS COUNT

We cooperate with relevant thought leaders in the area of electromobility. We supplement our strategic know-how with specialist expertise and the latest findings from science to answer complex questions. For this, we work closely with our partners PEM Motion of RWTH Aachen University and Fraunhofer FFB from Münster in the areas of strategy, development, procurement and production of electric vehicles and batteries.
PEM MOTION

PEM Motion is an engineering and consulting service provider with focus on batteries and electric motors as well as the industrialization of mobility products.

PEM MOTION HOMEPAGE

Fraunhofer FFB

The Fraunhofer Research Institution for Battery Cell Production FFB aims to become the center for the development of modern, scalable and sustainable battery cell production for Germany and Europe. Experts from the fields of chemistry, engineering, production and digitalization support Berylls in projects that require a deep understanding of the battery cell and its production processes.

FRAUNHOFER FFB HOMEPAGE

E-Mobilität

BAHNBRECHEND
WIDER WILLEN

Herausforderungen

BETRIFFT: DIE GESAMTE WERTSCHÖPFUNGSKETTE DER AUTOMOBILITÄT

Keine Technologie scheint so vorsehbar und ist doch mit so vielen Unbekannten versehen wie die Elektromobilität.

Sie erfasst alle Bereiche der automobilen Wertschöpfung und zwingt Automobilhersteller und Zulieferer, sämtliche Unternehmenseinheiten unter e-mobilen Gesichtspunkten neu auszurichten. Gleichzeitig engen gesetzliche Vorgaben den Gestaltungsspielraum der Automobilunternehmen hierbei stark ein.

Die Zeiten, als man die Elektromobilität mit Argumenten wie regionalen Unterschieden, möglichen Alternativen und Verzögerungen im Anlauf grundsätzlich in Frage stellte, sind vorbei. Alle OEMs und Zulieferer, die langfristig am Markt präsent sein wollen, müssen eine sämtliche Unternehmensbereiche umfassende Strategie zum Thema Elektromobilität haben.

Berylls’ Perspektive

ELEKTROMOBILITÄT – EINE ALLUMFASSENDE HERAUSFORDERUNG

Die Elektromobilität gibt die Rahmenbedingungen vor, wie Automobilität heute gedacht wird.  

Von Entscheidungen zu Produkt- oder Serviceportfolio über die Definition geeigneter Software- und Hardwarearchitekturen sowie dem Ausrollen neuer Vertriebs- und Geschäftsmodelle bis hin zur strategischen Kommunikation mit Investoren und Aktionären – überall gibt Elektromobilität heute den Ton an.  

Obwohl noch viele Fragen unbeantwortet sind – und das nicht nur aus Sicht der automobilen Endkunden –, sind die Zeiten, in denen man sich allein auf Gesetzgeber und Regierungen verließ, vorbei. Damit Elektromobilität langfristig gewinnbringend auf Umsatz und Rendite einzahlen kann, sind klare Entscheidungen und nachhaltiges Handeln der Unternehmen selbst gefragt. 

Und dabei geht Berylls als Teil der Automobilitätsindustrie federführend voran. 

Leistungsspektrum

FÜNF HERAUSFORDERUNGEN BEGEGNEN

Um die Elektromobilität nachhaltig, wachstumsfähig und profitabel zu gestalten, müssen Automobilunternehmen fünf Herausforderungen meistern:
HOHER REGULATORISCHER DRUCK ERFORDERT MASSIVE BESCHLEUNIGUNG

Gesetzgeber erhöhen massiv den Druck auf die Autohersteller, Emissionen so weit zu senken, dass dies nur über eine signifikante Erhöhung des Absatzes von Elektrofahrzeugen erreicht werden kann. Viele Städte drohen sogar mit Fahrverboten.

Hersteller geraten dadurch massiv unter Druck, nicht nur schnell ihr bestehendes Angebot an Elektrofahrzeugen zu erweitern, sondern vor allem durch innovative Geschäftsmodelle die Kundenakzeptanz, zum Beispiel in Bezug auf öffentliche Lademöglichkeiten, zu erhöhen.

Unser Leistungsspektrum umfasst:

Wir unterstützen OEMs dabei, eigene Lösungen für die Herausforderungen der Elektromobilität zu finden und sie sinnvoll in bestehende Angebote zu integrieren, zum Beispiel über neue Dienste wie VaaS, Mobility Services, digitale Dienste oder eigene Ladelösungen.

ENORMER KOSTEN- UND INVESTITIONSDRUCK

Noch immer schreckt die geringe Batteriereichweite bei gleichzeitig hohen Kosten selbst interessierte Kunden vom Kauf eines Elektrofahrzeugs ab.

OEMs und Zulieferer müssen in erheblichem Umfang in die Weiterentwicklung, insbesondere der Batterietechnologie, investieren und hierbei massiv die Kosten senken. Dies muss innerhalb kürzester Zeit geschehen, sodass Automobilunternehmen gut beraten sind, dabei vermehrt auf Kooperationen und Partnerschaften zu setzen.

Unser Leistungsspektrum umfasst:

Berylls unterstützt bei der Planung und Umsetzung von Kostenreduzierungsprogrammen in Entwicklung, Fertigung und Einkauf, der Suche nach und Auswahl von geeigneten Kooperationspartnern, der Entwicklung von Software sowie bei der Absicherung und Beschleunigung neuer Produktanläufe. Ferner beraten wir unsere Klienten darin, auf den  globalen Kapitalmärkten notwendige Investitionsmittel abzusichern

SCHWIERIGE INTEGRATION VON ELEKTROFAHRZEUGEN IN BESTEHENDE PLATTFORMEN UND PORTFOLIOS

Aufgrund hoher Legacy-Kosten bieten vor allem etablierte Hersteller selbst Elektro-interessierten Kunden nur ein über alle Fahrzeugsegmente hinweg stark eingeschränktes Produktportfolio an.

Die daraus resultierende Erwartungslücke zwischen Kundenbedürfnissen und Produktangebot erhöht beim Kunden die Wechselbereitschaft und ebnet den Weg für neue Wettbewerber.

Unser Leistungsspektrum umfasst:

Berylls unterstützt OEMs, Zulieferer, Start-ups und Big-Tech-Unternehmen dabei, geeignete Portfolios und Kernkompetenzen zu definieren und in bestehende Architekturen, Organisationen und Sales-Modelle zu integrieren.

AUSBAU DER ÖFFENTLICHEN LADEINFRASTRUKTUR

Eine geringe Netzabdeckung, eine geringe Verfügbarkeit an Schnellladekapazitäten und lange Wartezeiten erschweren das Laden von Elektrofahrzeugen im öffentlichen Raum. Hinzu kommen unausgereifte Bezahlmöglichkeiten und komplizierte Bezahlprozesse an den Ladesäulen selbst.

Unser Leistungsspektrum umfasst:

Wir zeigen OEMs und Zulieferern auf, wie sie das Laden für Kunden attraktiver machen können, zum Beispiel durch Einführung neuester digitaler Dienste, innovativer Geschäftsmodelle und eigener Ladelösungen sowie den Aufbau von Kooperationen und Netzwerken.

ABSICHERUNG DER ROHSTOFFVERSORGUNG, LIEFERKETTEN UND PRODUKTANLÄUFE

Für viele Komponenten eines E-Fahrzeugs und insbesondere die Hochvoltbatterie müssen neue Lieferanten akquiriert und Fertigungsverfahren etabliert werden.

Unser Leistungsspektrum umfasst:

Insbesondere bei kritischen Vormaterialien wie Lithium, Kobalt, Nickel oder seltenen Erden müssen neue Lieferketten von der ESG-konformen Ressourcengewinnung bis hin zur Fertigung und Montage aufgesetzt und muss die Versorgungssicherheit langfristig sichergestellt werden.

Dies setzt auch voraus, dass neue Kompetenzen aufgebaut und Mitarbeiter über Weiterbildungsangebote begleitet werden. Dazu sind Partnerschaften auf Augenhöhe wichtiger denn je.

Team

UNSERE EXPERTEN FÜR E-MOBILITÄT

Executive Partner

Andreas Radics

Wenn 10 Jahre wie ein Wimpernschlag vorbeigehen, dann ist es Berylls. Zusammen mit einem Award Winning Team jeden Tag aufs Neue an den Top-Themen der Mobilitätsindustrie arbeiten zu dürfen, ist eine grandiose Motivation!

Partner

Dr. Alexander Timmer

Für mich bedeutet erstklassige Automotive-Beratung Leidenschaft für das Produkt, eine eigene Perspektive auf die Herausforderungen in der Industrie und die Zusammenarbeit mit einem hochmotivierten Team. All das kommt bei Berylls zusammen – but di…

Project Manager

Sema Poyraz

Die Zusammenarbeit mit den inspirierendsten Kollegen und Partnern ermöglicht es mir, meine beruflichen Fähigkeiten zu bereichern. Bei Berylls habe ich die Chance, die Strategin zu sein, die ich bin, und meine Ideen auszudrücken, die Wert und Wachs…

Project Manager

Valentin Froh

Als Teil der Berylls-Familie arbeiten wir mit pragmatischen und zugleich professionellen Ansätzen an den großen Herausforderungen der Industrie – in einem vielseitigen Team aus hochmotivierten Automobilisten.

Senior Consultant

Cameron Gormley

Die Zukunft der Automobilität liegt mir sehr am Herzen, und Berylls bietet eine einzigartige Gelegenheit, diesen Wandel voranzutreiben und an der Spitze innovativer Lösungen für die gesamte Branche zu stehen.

Associate

Henri Laux

Eine der größten Herausforderungen der Automobilitätsindustrie ist es, die Kunden ins Zentrum zu rücken. Bei Berylls Mad Media helfen wir den Hauptakteuren der Industrie, diesen Mindset-Shift durch einen ergebnisorientierten Ansatz zu erreichen.

Lead Venture Associate

Johan Torssell

Skalierbare Produkte entwickeln, in aufstrebende Start-ups investieren und Unternehmen beraten, um Spitzenleistungen zu erzielen. Hier wird Wissen wirklich genutzt, um die gesellschaftliche Wirkung für eine glänzende Zukunft zu maximieren, was BDV …

Consultant

Lisa Schmidt

Bei Berylls zu arbeiten bedeutet für mich zu wissen, dass ich mir keinen besseren Arbeitgeber vorstellen kann. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Kollegen, Vorgesetzten und Kunden macht Berylls für mich - but different.  

Consultant

Thomas Scholz

Persönliche Mobilitätsangebote sind ein wichtiges Element im täglichen Leben. Um diese nachhaltig ökologisch und ökonomisch für Kunden und Unternehmen attraktiv zu gestalten, arbeiten wir bei Berylls mit Leidenschaft an strategischen Lösungen.

Consultant

Rishab Harlalka

Der Fokus auf die schnell entwickelnde Automobilbranche macht Berylls zu einer perfekten Bühne, um meine Passion für diese Branche zu entdecken. Die Faszination für Automobile und die Freude der Menschen bei Berylls, macht Berylls „but different…

Consultant

Yalun Li

Die Zukunft einer smarten und elektrischen Mobilität zu realisieren ist die Vision, die ich mich Tag für Tag und Schritt für Schritt widme. Die Kreation innovativer und „aber anderen“ Mobilitätslösungen sowie die Industrialisierung der Ideen…
Berylls’ Veröffentlichungen
DIE „ANDERE“ STIMME

Aktuelle Einschätzungen und Erkenntnisse von Berylls: Hier gibt es alles Wissenswerte rund um die Trends, die die Zukunft der Automobilität bestimmen.

Index
Automobility Index

Der WTCAR umfasst die 100 wichtigsten börsennotierten Unternehmen weltweit.

Zum Index
Podcast
Berylls Podcast

Das Neueste in Sachen Automobilität für unterwegs.

Spotify Homepage

Kooperationspartner

WO ES AUF STARKE PARTNERSCHAFTEN ANKOMMT

Wir kooperieren mit relevanten Vordenkern im Bereich der Elektromobilität. Mit Fachexpertise und den neuesten Erkenntnissen aus der Wissenschaft ergänzen wir unser strategisches Know-how für die Beantwortung komplexer Fragestellungen. Hierbei arbeiten wir in den Bereichen Strategie, Entwicklung, Beschaffung sowie Produktion von Elektrofahrzeugen und Batterien eng mit unseren Partnern PEM Motion der RWTH Aachen sowie dem Fraunhofer FFB in Münster zusammen.

PEM MOTION

PEM Motion ist ein Engineering- und Beratungsdienstleister mit Fokus auf Batterien und E-Motoren sowie auf die Industrialisierung von Mobilitätsprodukten.

PEM MOTION HOMEPAGE

Fraunhofer FFB
Die Fraunhofer-Einrichtung Forschungsfertigung Batteriezelle FFB verfolgt am Standort Münster das Ziel, das Zentrum für den Aufbau einer modernen, skalierbaren und nachhaltigen Batteriezellproduktion für Deutschland und Europa zu werden. Dabei unterstützen Experten aus den Bereichen Chemie, Ingenieurwesen, Produktion und Digitalisierung Berylls in Projekten, die ein tiefgehendes Verständnis der Batteriezelle und ihrer Produktionsprozesse erfordern. FRAUNHOFER FFB HOMEPAGE