Sign in to download




    *required field


    BERYLLS CASE BEEZERO
    23. February 2018
    pressemeldung_batterie_studie
    21. March 2018
    CASESTUDY

    BEE ZERO.

    CAR-SHARING BUSINESS DESIGN FOR FUEL-CELL CARS.

    From project kick-off onto Munich’s roads in less than 12 months – Berylls Strategy Advisors and Linde AG jointly developed an innovative car-sharing business design for fuel-cell cars.
    Fuel cells have the potential to assure sustainable mobility – especially for long distances. However, there are still very few fuel-cell cars on the market, and most people are unaware of this technology.
    With an innovative car sharing concept, Linde wanted to demonstrate that this technology is suitable for everyday use, while opening it up to the public at large – all within twelve months.

    CHALLENGE

    • Originality of the concept: BeeZero is the only one of its kind in the world, and the concept had to be developed from scratch. A specific focus was placed on making it possible for users to experience, at first hand, the advantages of a fuel-cell drive system over alternative drive technologies.
    • Sustainability of the concept: the aim was to establish the car-sharing service in Munich as a long-term, stand-alone mobility offering, not just as a short-lived campaign, which meant that a distinct value proposition had to be formulated for potential users.
    • Innovative technology: The development of the fuel-cell technology is still in its infancy – the limitations for the business design are substantial – in particular as regards the choice of vehicles and the refueling infrastructure.
    • Stakeholder management: BeeZero is a new urban mobility concept for Munich, making it necessary to develop a clear strategy for engaging Munich’s administrative and political decision-makers in the project.
    • Simultaneous implementation: because the client had decided on summer 2016 to launch BeeZero, the first steps of the implementation phase, i.e. supplier tenders, had to be taken even during the concept-design phase.

    SUCCESS FACTORS

    • Team: the project required a team capable of quickly producing and implementing results. Consequently, a team was set up, which was composed of strategy specialists, urban-mobility experts (Civity Management Consultants), and car-sharing pioneers (Michael Ohr of ZebraMobil) with relevant experience as entrepreneurs.
    • Analytics: Because of the special features of the technology, and budget constraints, it was mission critical to formulate the business design with great precision. This was particularly true for modeling demand, because the data needed for the so-called “zone model” was not available ad hoc, and had to be specifically collected with a proprietary method.
    • Heart and soul: founding a start-up calls for a lot of commitment, flexibility, and motivation from the entrepreneurs and consultants alike. Each and every member of the team was fully dedicated to the client’s goal, and eagerly anticipated the market launch of this innovative service.

    RESULT

    The BeeZero car-sharing concept (www.beezero.com) is optimally geared to the requirements of the citizens of Munich, and gives users the opportunity to travel longer distances, e.g. for outings and weekend trips, with zero emissions. The extensive support package guarantees an excellent customer experience.
    In April, 2016, BeeZero was presented to the public and, in August, its fuel-cell cars took to the road for the first time. Today, BeeZero already has more than 2,000 registered users.
    DIALOG

    DR. MATTHIAS KEMPF

    Partner
    T +49-89-710 410 40-0
    info@berylls.com

    Xing LinkedIn

    YOUR CONTACT PERSON

BERYLLS CASE BEEZERO - http://www.berylls.com
pressemeldung_bestcars
30. Januar 2018
pressemeldung_batterie_studie
21. März 2018
CASESTUDY

BEE ZERO.

CARSHARING MIT BRENNSTOFFZELLENAUTOS IN MÜNCHEN.

In weniger als 12 Monaten von Idee auf die Straße – Berylls entwickelt das Geschäftsmodell eines innovatives Carsharing-Konzept in München mit Brennstoffzellenfahrzeugen für die Linde AG.
Die Brennstoffzelle bietet das Potenzial, nachhaltige Mobilität insbesondere in der Langstrecke zu gewährleisten. Aktuell sind jedoch nur wenige Modelle verfügbar und das Bewusstsein in der Öffentlichkeit ist gering.
Die Linde AG will mit einem innovativen Carsharingkonzept den Beweis für die Alltagstauglichkeit antreten und zugleich einem breiten Nutzerkreis erlebbar machen – innerhalb von 12 Monaten.

HERAUSFORDERUNG

  • Neuartigkeit des Konzeptes: Das Projekt „Linde2Go“ ist weltweit einzigartig und musste vollständig neu entwickelt werden – vor allem unter der Zielsetzung, die Vorteile des Brennstoffzellenantriebs gegenüber anderen alternativen Antriebstechnologien konkret erfahrbar zu machen.
  • Innovative Technologie: Die Brennstoffzellen-Technologie ist noch in der frühen Phase der Entwicklung und bedingt substanzielle Einschränkungen bei der Ausarbeitung des Geschäftsmodells, insbesondere hinsichtlich Fahrzeugauswahl und Tank-Infrastruktur, die zu berücksichtigen waren.
  • Stakeholder Management: Die auszugründende Geschäftseinheit benötigt hohe Freiheitsgrade; zugleich galt es die Finanzierung und den Buy-in durch den Konzernvorstand zu sichern.
  • Neuland für den Kunden: Während hohe Technologiekompetenz (Brennstoffzelle) vorhanden war, fehlte noch Erfahrung mit dem Geschäftsgegenstand (Carsharing) in allen Facetten. Dies musste das Beraterteam vollumfänglich kompensieren.
  • Simultane Implementierung: In Anbetracht der Anforderung, das Konzept bereits im Sommer 2016 zu lancieren, mussten die ersten Implementierungsschritte (konkret: Ausschreibung an Lieferanten) bereits während der Konzeption erfolgen.

ERFOLGSFAKTOREN

  • Team: Die Aufgabenstellung erforderte ein Team, das in der Lage war, kurzfristig Ergebnisse zu produzieren, die unmittelbar umsetzbar waren. Daher wurde ein Team aus Strategie-Spezialisten mit Experten für urbane Mobilität (Civity Management Consultants) und Pionieren aus dem Carsharing-Umfeld (Zebramobil, Michael Ohr) mit relevanter unternehmerischer Erfahrung zusammengestellt.
  • Analytik: Aufgrund der Besonderheiten der Technologie und der Beschränkungen in der Budgetierung war die exakte Bestimmung des Geschäftsmodelles erfolgskritisch. Insbesondere die Modellierung der Nachfragesituation im so genannten Zonenmodell erfordert Daten, die nicht ad-hoc verfügbar sind und mit einem proprietären Verfahren eigens erhoben wurden.
  • Herzblut: Der Aufbau eines Start-ups erfordert viel Engagement, Flexibilität und Motivation von den Unternehmern – und auch von den Beratern. Jedes Team-Mitglied hat sich dem Erfolg für den Kunden vollständig verschrieben und fiebert weiterhin dem Marktstart entgegen.

ERGEBNIS

Beezero (www.beezero.com) ist ein perfekt auf die Bedürfnisse der Stadt München abgestimmtes Carsharing mit einem klaren Fokus auf besonders attraktive Anwendungszwecke. Durch ein umfassendes Betreuungskonzept wird ein optimales Kundenerlebnis gewährleistet.
Im April 2016 wurde BeeZero der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt und im August fanden die ersten Fahrten statt. Mittlerweile  gibt es über 35000 registrierte Nutzer.
DIALOG

DR. MATTHIAS KEMPF

Partner
T +49-89-710 410 40-0
info@berylls.com

Xing LinkedIn

IHR ANSPRECHPARTNER